A10M doing random stuff at the end of a print

Dogomil

A10M doing random stuff at the end of a print

Post by Dogomil » Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:16 am

Hi there,

I've run into something very strange... My printer has started to just randomly "print" stuff, whenever it get's close to 95-97% of its print job. The nozzle even goes into the print, destroying it. I just can't figure out, what causes this.
Also it doesn't really end the job, the temperatures stay up and there is no print summary on the lcd. It doesn't home then, the nozzle just parks somewhere in the print.
I'm using Cura (4.40, 4.41 and 4.50 so far, nothing changes)
Have tried different firmwares (Marlin) on the printer, the 1.19 from by aarli and now 2.0 with own settings. No luck so far..

I want to point out, that I'm quite new to 3d-printing, so that doesn't make it easier for me.

Has anyone ever run into a similar problem or has any idea, what might be the problem? I'm losing my mind over this...

Sodium100mg

Re: A10M doing random stuff at the end of a print

Post by Sodium100mg » Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:16 pm

That's crazy!

I'd copy the gcode from the SD card back onto the computer and look at the gcode. Don't just look at the gcode file you put on the SD card, but actually read it back. "in theory" if the g-code should look just like it prints and any problem with the SD card should be repeated. You could also try a different SD card. While it shouldn't happen, SD cards are written in sectors and it is possible that a corrupt disk could be pointing to random sectors.

Try the files that came with the printer. Do they also fail?

Dogomil

Post by Dogomil » Tue Mar 10, 2020 11:33 pm

Thanks for the reply!

I will try that as soon as it happens again. The print that ran while I was typing this yesterday, came out without problems of course :D
Do you mean load the gcode file into cura and look how the object looks or actually read gcodes? I have not gotten into this until now.