How to calibrate the print size?

Post Reply
onki
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:08 pm

How to calibrate the print size?

Post by onki » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:17 pm

Hi,

I have printed a disc with a original diameter of 125mm. The real part just has 122mm.
Is there any calibration possible in the firmware?

Is it better to change the stepper parameter in the firmware which means a recompile & transfer or should I try to scale the object using the slicer?

Best regards
Onki

User avatar
_kaktus_
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: PL
Contact:

Re: How to calibrate the print size?

Post by _kaktus_ » Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:17 am

Hi.
:mrgreen:

In the first step I propose to calibrate all drives.
In the second step, if necessary, I suggest making corrections to the model.

Depending on the type of material (filament) the shrinkage can be different.
On the forum I help to use the rod, I don't give fish.
Geeetech Prusa I3 M201 Dual extruder Mixcolor 3D printer, bought 2017-12-19, already built, in the cognitive and improvement phase
Geeetech filament, ABS only
Geeetech 3D WiFi Module for 3D Printer, bought 2018-04-15, He got a new life, and still lies in a drawer.
Positively frenzied customer of Getech Technology.

onki
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:08 pm

Re: How to calibrate the print size?

Post by onki » Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:43 pm

Hi,

Thnaks for your suggestion.
I have downloaded the i3A firmware files but I can't find where to calibrate the axes.
The configuration.h is more related to board types etc.
Is there a function in the frontend to set the steps /cm without flashing (and configuring) a new firmware?

Best regards
Onki

onki
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:08 pm

Re: How to calibrate the print size?

Post by onki » Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:22 pm

Hi,

I have found this line in the firmware source code:

Code: Select all

#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT   {78.74, 78.74, 2560, 95}
Are these the default values for the i3 Aluminum?
If so I should be able to set them to higher values for X and Y using G code command:

Code: Select all

M92 X80.71 Y80.71 Z2560
Is that correct?

Can this M92 be used to read out the currently set values?

Best regards
Onki

onki
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 9:08 pm

Re: How to calibrate the print size?

Post by onki » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:53 pm

Hi,

I managed to calibrate my I3 Aluminium without touching the source code.
First I checked the current setting for X/Y axis using GCode M503.

Since the printout was about 2,5% too small I have multiplied the current factors (78.74) to get the corrected value of 80.71.

The new value was sent to the printer using M92 command. I finally saved the new values to the EEPROM using M500 command.

Now the print size is OK.

Best regards
Onki

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest