Newbie in problems

pfuente

Newbie in problems

Post by pfuente » Wed Nov 13, 2019 3:58 am

I'm a teacher. In my new school I found a 3D printer Geeetech i3. All the old teachers that know about it are missing.
My 3D printing knowledge is very (very) basic.
First question: How can I Know what model is the printer exactly?
Second question: In my tests I have not been able to print due to jams in the hotend. I have unblocked it a couple of times but it gets stuck again. In the process I broke the ptfe tube. What replacement should I get?

I submit a couple of photos
frontal.JPG
frontal.JPG (253.15 KiB) Viewed 7908 times
hotend.JPG
hotend.JPG (220.12 KiB) Viewed 7908 times

William
Site Admin

Re: Newbie in problems

Post by William » Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:25 am

:D Hi, 1. When you turn on the printer, you can check the model displayed on the display;
2. When you print out the print is inconsistent, you can try to check the spring tension on the feeder.
If it is too loose, you can add the paper jam at the spring to adjust it. If you mean to break the tube, you need to do it. replace.
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

GAQ

Post by GAQ » Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:35 am

Hi pfuente,
Your printer looks all but identical to my 'Geeetech i3 Pro B'.
If you're ever looking at Thingiverse (Good place for student printing projects ?) there's a photo of my machine here...
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3616021
OK, I have fitted a component fan and bed-probe, but you can see they're the same.
So... Jams in the hotend ?
I'd change the nozzle - they cost just pennies on Ebay/Amazon
Go for a 0.4mm nozzle - mine came with 0.3mm (Doesn't sound a lot, but it is when you start !)
Check your extruder - I've had far more issues with jams/blockages and bits of filament here than with the nozzle.