Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:38 am

One question, what is the pin 11? I have a lot problem with bltouch

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:58 pm

The problem is this version compile with latest arduino IDE version. It does not compile with the recomended 1.0.1 version by Geeetech.

User avatar
William
Site Admin
Posts: 6036
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by William » Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:10 pm

The pin of 11 is for Bltouch signal
-Keep your mind and try to test it. :)
-Everything will be fun!-Support all Getech printer.
-You can ask me the questions and I will kindly reply.
-Respect others is the best way you can get help!

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:48 am

I'm using a BL-Touch on my I3 with Marlin 1.1.8, and the GT2560 board with no problems.

Do you have the BL's 3-wire connector attached to the Z-Max socket?

Did you replace the 2-pin socket with the 3-pin that is needed?
Pin 11 is the Z-Max signal pin, IIRC. Did you enable BL-Touch in the firmware?
I certainly don't mean to patronize, but your post didn't give much information....

Edit...I just noticed that I have the older GT2560 board without the 3-pin BL-Touch terminal up by where the thermistors plug in, so my BL-Touch's 3-pin terminal is connected to the Z-max socket, which uses pin 32 as the signal pin. Pin 11 is the dedicated BL-Touch signal pin. William is right. Sorry!

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:03 pm

Hi,
the problem i have with this firmware is nozzle is so far from bed. And I send the command from repetier "M851 Z-1.5 ; to set the offset you got in the previous step." and it does not do anything I have tried with "M851 Z-20" and "M851 Z20" But nozzle is about 4 mm from bed. I does not take down with command. i dont understand it.

Thanks for your reply

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:43 am

andyparla,
There is a setting in config.h that allows negative z movements, but where it is depends on the firmware version. On Marlin 1.1.8, it is this, in the z-probe section, starting at line 803:

// Min software endstops curtail movement below minimum coordinate bounds
#define MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOPS
#if ENABLED(MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOPS)
#define MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_X
#define MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_Y
//#define MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_Z
#endif

Note that the #define MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_Z is commented out. If it is not, it won't allow negative Z movements. Hope this helps!

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:24 pm

Yes I read it. but nozzle does the same it does not move near bed. It is always about 2mm from bed. I have tried everything I read.

I've Enabled Eeprom
I've Enabled eutoleveling
I've changed offset min and max to -20 and 20
I've calibrated the autolevel screw
And
I've change the parameter MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_Z to false in firmware by default but I've tried with 1.1.8 new marlin version as you said.

Then I send the next command:
M851 ; It returs -1.29
M851 Z0 ; set the offset to zero
G28
G1 Z0

At last command the nozzle is about 2 mm.

I use the next comand
M851 Z-3.9 ; to set the offset near to bed (it nozze is about 2mm from bed and offset is -1.29 I calculate about -3.9 more or less)

But when I send G28 AutoHome comand, the nozzle continues at same position. So I dont know what happens.

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:24 am

[quote=andyparla ]
I've change the parameter MIN_SOFTWARE_ENDSTOP_Z to false in firmware by default but I've tried with 1.1.8 new marlin version as you said.
[/quote]

andy, did you comment the line, or did you add the word false to the end of it? Can you post the relevant section of your config.h file? To work, the line must be commented out by adding a double slash to the beginning. Adding the word false to the end of the line won't work.

PS, I don't know why the BBCode doesn't work for me on this forum; it's enabled in my profile...

andyparla
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:21 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by andyparla » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:54 pm

Hi!

hahaha no problem.

I commented the line on marlin 1.1.8 But in by default firmware I cannot comment the line so I tried set a false value. Both with same result, Nozzle does not down

JohnDeere630
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Marlin 1.1.8 with BLTouch for i3 Pro B - with T8 Lead Screw

Post by JohnDeere630 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 1:24 am

andy, one more foolish question...are you using a computer or the LCD on the printer? I seem to recall I couldn't move the nozzle below 0 in Repetier, but could move it using the move axis menu on the LCD. If you are using the LCD, I am flummoxed. If I could see your config.h file, I might spot the problem. I have spent a fair amount of time wading around in mine, LOL.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests